65 Degrees Cafe

I love meeting up with my Mum and Auntie in the city for lunch whenever those two peas in a pod invite me along (they know I’m always up for a long lunch!) and this lunch was no different, I was happy and excited because it was my Birthday (oh how quickly that came around!) (excuse the blurry photo taken in my excitement/haste)

They wanted to opt for somewhere close to Parliament Station (not realising the entrances to Parliament Station spread from one end of Spring to the other) so we met up at 65 Degrees for a highly anticipated baguette.

65 Degrees if a fairly small cafe on Exhibition Street up the Carlton Gardens end of town with just a few businessmen opting for a sit-down lunch – it’s not busy at all. There are a significant amount of take-aways happening – of food, but especially of the coffee. Each of us ordered a baguette and we all shared (each baguette is $12-$14). I was really excited when it came out smoking hot  baked around the ingredients! Here’s the Lamb Ragu (my choice as they were out of duck – tut tut!)

The Ragu was nice, but probably the least favoured of all, as it was the least flavoured. Not a stand-out. The Chorizo was at the opposite end of the spectrum though, a little on the hotter side and definitely more delicious. Thumbs up from everybody.

We also had the Pork Belly with apple, which also fell a little flat. I was expecting more out of these delicious home-baked ‘baguettes’ but apart from the sensation of ripping up freshly cooked bread (the bread was very WHITE and extremely glue-like… I would’ve prefered the crunch of a proper baguette) and tucknig into a warm dish on a cold day, it wasn’t anything spectacular. Which is actually a shame because of the prices they’re charging for these things.

Last but not least, the coffee. Now *that* is why I would travel up here (if I didn’t already have the perfect coffee being brewed right behind my building, but nevertheless…). The HOT was hot, the weak was weak, the soy was soy-y. They have expert baristas. A little on the strong side for my liking, but the girls were definitely fans.

65 Degrees Café on Urbanspoon

Ambience: 6/10
Service: 8/10
Food: 7/10
Value for money: 7/10
Score (food is weighted double): 70%

Leave a Reply

