I missed you, MissChu

Terrible pun. But I did! I hadn’t been to MissChu for a while and that’s some sort of crime, given that I’m only a 5-10 minute walk away. It’s a long-time favourite of my dear friend S and is up her end of town, so we popped down for the lunchtime rush last week.

MissChu do very fresh, delicious Vietnamese food which you can have in (they have tables out the front and also inside down the side of the restaurant, but not much sitting space! You may have to share or sit at the long bar that runs the length of the kitchen) or you can even take away. Yes, THEY EVEN DELIVER. So now you understand – I should be eating MissChu every week.

The menu has a few things on there, mainly dumplings, rice paper rolls, vermicelli noodle salads and Pho (Vietnamese noodle soup). There are a few other bits and pieces, like the duck pancakes, which are well worth seeking out. I also have the coconut water – a slave to the experience, I guess.

It was with this in mind that I thought I’d branch away from the usual order (vermicelli noodle salad, various kinds, with rice paper rolls – believe me, it’s enough to fill even the hungriest of workers) and try the Pho with some dumplings.


BLEUGH. The Pho was bland, boring and not even worth finishing. What was I thinking?? Why did I try something new?! The dumplings were nice, we shared Shanghai Pork and some English Spinach and Tofu ones, but nothing you can’t find at pretty much any restaurant in Chinatown, although probably a little less greasy and a little more fresh. The tofu was rather delicious.

So it is with much regret that I have to publish an average review for MissChu, because I REALLY love their rice paper rolls.

Miss Chu on the whole,
Ambience: 7/10 (I personally love a bit of hustle and bustle)
Value for money: 5/10 (a little more expensive, but for some things it is worth it!)
Food: 7/10 (unfortunately the bland pho brings it down when everything else is amazing)
Service: 8/10 (prompt, efficient)

MissChu on Urbanspoon

And if you were wondering “who is this Miss Chu?”… well, she’s a real person. Read about her in an interview from The Age Online.

2 responses to “I missed you, MissChu

Leave a Reply

