Seddon Deadly Sins

For a place for sinners, this is just too much fun.

As soon as I walked in the door, I knew this was going to be a winner. I don’t often find myself in Footscray, but today I was out in the rain for an auction (for work, not for fun) and the one thing that made me perk up about this little outing was the promise of ticking this one off the ‘to eat at’ list. I beat the lunch rush (at 12:30 on a Friday) and scored quite a large table all to myself, where I summarily laid out my book and phone – my favourite lunch for one companions.

The cute picture books as menus are sweet and I had such a hard time deciding from such amazing breakfast dishes (oh yeah, I wasn’t even going to tackle lunch until I’d tried their breakfasts!) as sweet potato latkes (with crispy bacon, sour cream and chives – $11.50), Envy (green eggs and ham, scrambled eggs with pesto, fetta and ham on turkish toast – $11.50) or Gluttony (eggs with the lot, you get the idea! $14.50). I caved for eggs and polenta, with roasted tomatoes, on spinach ($14).

It was just perfect. I love my poached egg nice and orange and runny, all over the soft and crispy polenta with the lure of roasted tomatoes to keep all the flavours rich. Perfect. I don’t think I’ve had such a good breakfast for $14 in a very very long time.

I don’t know how I physically had space, but since my dish came so quickly and I had an hour to kill for lunch, I ordered a passionfruit and white chocolate cheesecake. Yeah, all to myself. I figured it wasn’t much bigger than a normal slice if you were having it as part of a larger cake. I have no idea how long it had been sitting in the window, but my god, it was perfection.

With a cup of peppermint tea, the total was $26. I’m very comfortable with that. My pants weren’t so comfortable with so much food though. Ah well, a girl can have her vices.

Seddon Deadly Sins on Urbanspoon

Ambience: 8/10
Service: 10/10
Food: 9/10
Value for money: 8/10
Score (food is weighted double): 88%

2 responses to “Seddon Deadly Sins

Leave a Reply

