Tom Phat

You know when you haven’t seen your best friend in a while and when you meet in a ‘cool’ busy restaurant and you need to just have 2 or 3 dishes to pick from so you can get on with the catching up? Yeah? This is just to spite me. That’s 27.

But just read it and tell me you don’t want to eat every single goddamn thing on that menu!

Tom Phat is way too cool for me and the waiters all know it. They’re pleasant enough, but the service isn’t fantastic – we wait quite a while to order and then again for dessert menus after we’re clearly finished. Not that I blame them, no, it’s probably hard waiting on the 6000 people dining there at 7pm on a Wednesday night. As I said, it’s cool. It’s so chic and dark that I’m actually having trouble figuring out what my friend ordered. Help please?

I know I ordered off the specials menu. You know I can’t turn down a good duck (with pinot)! This one was swimming in an overly sweet, rich juice but wasn’t actually very special at all, despite being about $27 or so. It would’ve been a pretty good one to share, but all by myself it was a bit much, just with some plain rice. The duck wasn’t particularly succulent or fatty, which is the reason it goes so well with pinot, instead of drowning in sweetness.

If When I come back, it will be with at least 3 other friends to taste some of the other amazing dishes on the menu and get a good feel for the place. A good comeback was the honeycomb dessert; which, again, is sweet. But it’s supposed to be.

Tom Phat on Urbanspoon

Ambience: 7/10
Service: 6/10
Food: 7.5/10
Value for money: 7/10 (my part of the bill was about $50, which isn’t so bad for main, dessert and wine)
Score (food is weighted double): 70%


Leave a Reply

