Bunyip Cafe

Without a doubt, this is my favourite breakfast place in South Melbourne. It has been consistently good, deals out delicious healthy breakfasts and lunches (together with the not-so-healthy, but delicious breakfast burger), and has the best coffee (aside from St Ali coffee, but it’s not always possible to get in there!)

Now I know a couple of other South-Melbourne-Market-goers who read this blog, and it has been a while since I’ve been in the neighbourhood (well, since last year) but I find myself going back to the same Bunyip Cafe time and time again. Cafe Panette? Bad service (actually terrible), despite being the best place to people watch (Tony Martin has been spotted here a couple of times over the years)…Q Eleven (my parents’ favourite haunt) is for me too expensive and sort of failed to impress.
I love the range of choices and the amount of food we get for our hearty and delicious breakfasts. The Boy went for a good eggs dish (you can see, plenty of food there, tasty bacon on lovely fresh bread, even snaussage)

I opted for the rather healthy (and HUGE) bircher muesli with rhubarb, prunes and a great dollop of fresh yoghurt. Absolute bliss. I love a perfect bircher and this comes very close.

Always hard to beat my breakfasts, but for under $15 you’d be hard pressed to get better value than this!

Bunyip Cafe on Urbanspoon

Ambience: 9/10 (get a spot outside on a weekend morning, imagine perfect weather and the market atmosphere once you’ve already finished your shopping)
Service: 8/10
Food: 7.5/10
Value for money: 8/10
Score (food is weighted double): 80%

Leave a Reply

